Home / Featured / Scintilla beat Bow Green to lift ECCL League Cup

Scintilla beat Bow Green to lift ECCL League Cup

Muhammad Talha

SCINTILLA CRICKET CLUB have been crowned the Essex County Cricket League Division 2/3 League Cup winners.

Newham was the host for the end of season finale as, in the middle of a September heatwave, Scintilla faced Bow Green at Flanders Fields. After winning the toss, the evergreen Mohit Gupta took control and used the support of a charging Sajal Rahman to rack up a half century. It set the tone of intent for Scintilla, as Aqib Ejaz smashed 79 in the rising heat. Bilal Khan set temperatures to boiling point by plundering 83 runs to leave Scintilla on 323/9.

It would take a mammoth effort to reach those figures in the sweltering heat, but Bow Green refused to lie low. Three wickets from Abdullah Chowdhary, two apiece from Mohit Gupta, Aqib Ejaz and Teja Bodaganti and one from Bilal Khan wrapped up the game. In unique scenes, Scintilla celebrated with Bow Green, sharing congratulations and compliments.

Scintilla Squad – ECCL Cup Final 2023
Aqib Ejaz – Haroon Saeed – Teja Bodaganti – Mussana Khalid – Bilal Khan –
Abdullah Chowdhary – Altaf Bhatt – Sajal Rahman – Romel Alauddin – Sohail Abbasi –
Mohit Gupta – Junaid Sofi – Adil Ejaz – Ishaq Shawn

Speaking after the win, Scintilla Captain Adil Ejaz commented, “Today is a special day for the Club as we achieved another milestone. The team and coaches were superb throughout as we played for one another. It allowed us to record this great triumph.”

Scintilla Chair Emdad Rahman MBE added, “We were all a little down after conceding the League, but a great team lifts itself and charges right on again. Well done to the squad on achieving another momentous day and our thanks go to the Essex County Cricket League and to our splendid Bow Green on creating such a great spectacle.”

Aqib Ejaz’s men will be presented with the trophy at a separate event during the winter, along with al other ECCL champions. Scintilla dedicated the win to Club Founder and Honorary President Ahmed Choudhury.

Read more stories about Scintilla Cricket Club:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.