Home / Sports / Weavers crowned Sonali Othith Masters Champions 2017

Weavers crowned Sonali Othith Masters Champions 2017

Emdad Rahman

A 24-TEAM participating tournament featuring the likes of Shadwell, Bromley, Newark, BYM, FC Workhouse and CAG saw Whitechapel-based Weavers crowned the Sonali Othith Masters champions for 2017.

Participating teams included Milton Keynes Galacticos, Herts United, Leeds, Birmingham, Oldham, Camden, and Bedford. Many of the pre-tournament favourites, including last year’s winners Golden Moon, were eliminated in the first round.

Weavers met Beaumont FC in the final which ended 0-0 and went onto to a penalty shootout, during which Weavers goalkeeper Russell Rahman pulled off three outstanding penalty saves. ILFL Winter League leaders Weavers were worthy winners and remained unbeaten throughout the day. The final was the only game within which they failed to score.

weavers 2Atiqur Rahman broke his arm last November, and the Weavers talisman played a Captain’s role throughout as he expertly marshalled an airtight defence to provide the foundation for his team’s success. He said, “It’s a wonderful feeling to be crowned champions today. The quality levels were excellent and there were many great teams out in force. We stuck to our game plan and let our football do the talking.”

Joint Manager Shirajul Islam added: “We are beyond proud with our success. We are a family here at Weavers, and this is reflected in the way we close down, fight and attack as a unit. I’m so proud of my team.”

Sonali Othith Chair Jamal Uddin congratulated Weavers on their success, saying “Despite a gloomy weather forecast, it’s turned out to be a very nice day. The whole tournament was played with great spirit and congratulations go to Weavers on their well earned Cup success. Our commiserations go to Beaumont – it’s heartbreaking to lose a penalty shootout.”

Joynal Abdin, Sonali Othith Secretary, concluded, “I would like to thank all the participating teams for their discipline and professionalism. A special thanks is reserved for those who came all the way from the North of England. Their passion for the sport is beyond belief.”

Weavers FC: Sonali Othith Masters Champions 2017
Atiqur Rahman
Abdul Monaf
Abdul Hakim
Jamal Ahmed
Russel Rahman
Arshadur Rahman
Syrazul Islam
Shipon Miah
Ali Muktar
Liton Miah
Fishnik Sojiva
Paulo Augusto
Jahed Uddin
Akil Miah
Abdul Mukith
Abdul Salem


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.